All About Newport Beach

head_left_image

Buying a Newport Beach Home | Get a Home Inspection

Are you considering purchasing a Newport Beach home? Then you should hire an independent inspector and get your own home inspection. If you aren't sure who to hire, then ask your Realtor for a list of recommended home inspectors!

As part of the purchase process, it is your right as a buyer to perform your own due diligence, meaning you find out everything there is to know about the house. It is imperative to read the disclosures the seller provides to you, review the preliminary title report and natural hazard disclosure and city report if there is one required in your area.

And get a home inspection. A good home inspector will identify issues within the property. They address plumbing, electrical, HVAC, and all the systems of the house. There isn't a home inspection I have been to where I have learned something new about a home. And I have found the Home Inspectors are more than willing to share information with you!

And then, based upon the results of your home inspection, it may trigger additional inspections such as a roof inspection, soils engineer, etc. These are just examples of other reports, and it is your right as a buyer to perform these inspections so that you understand what you are buying. It is not a matter of just "signing the documents", it is actually reviewing them with your Agent and to be sure that you understand the material facts about the property.

And of course, you can always contact the home inspector after the fact with any questions or comments that you may have.

I do recommend having a home inspection done before you complete the purchase.

 

Sharon Paxson REALTOR®
Compass
949.280.0681

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comment balloon 20 commentsSharon Paxson • January 27 2015 06:47PM

Comments

Sharon Paxson, I couldn't agree more.  It is important for buyers to get home inspections escpecially if the home is more than a few years old.

Posted by Sybil Campbell, REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia (Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia) over 4 years ago

Home inspections are such an important part of the process.  I cannot imagine buying a home without one.

Posted by Susan Haughton, Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results. (Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545) over 4 years ago

I actually have buyers who don't have an inspection sign a hold harmless saying it was against our recommendation.

Posted by Tammy Lankford,, Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville (Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668) over 4 years ago

Hello Sharon,

A home inspection is not a step in the home buying process to skip!

Posted by Lisa Von Domek, ....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless! (Lisa Von Domek Team) over 4 years ago

A home inspection is an important part of any transaction- wherever the property is located.  Newport Beach, is one of my favorite vacations I've taken- what a lovely place to sell real estate, Sharon!

Posted by Faith LaRosse, Serving Berks, Chester & Montgomery Counties (Springer Realty Group) over 4 years ago

Good morning Sharon. Your recommendation of a home inspection should be a no-brainer, but sometimes the advice is not accepted. Nothing good can happen after that.

Posted by Joe Petrowsky, Your Mortgage Consultant for Life (Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709) over 4 years ago

Sharon, one of my favorite coments is "for your protection get a home inspection"! Enjoy your day!

Posted by Wayne Martin, Real Estate Broker - Retired (Wayne M Martin) over 4 years ago

We also recommend having a home inspection before signing on the dotted line. Best way to answer any concerns a buyer may have about a property!

Posted by Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400, Long Island Home and Condo Specialists (The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803) over 4 years ago

Hi Sharon: Excellent and invaluable advice. Nobody should buy a house without a home inspection. However, there is exception to this rule... Investors. Most of them do their own inspection.

Posted by Maria Gilda Racelis, Home Ownership is w/in Reach. We Make it Happen! (Home Buyers Realty, LLC-Manchester, Bolton. Vernon,Ellington) over 4 years ago

Solid advice, Sharon.  One should never purchase a home without a professional inspection.

Posted by Gabe Sanders, Stuart Florida Real Estate (Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales) over 4 years ago

Sharon, a home inspection is a mini insurance policy to be sure you are not purchasing a lemon.   Great post to explain why buyers need an inspection!

Posted by Joan Cox, Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time (House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373) over 4 years ago

I do too. Even selling my own home I recommended a home inspection even though we had our systems checked before hand. It is the smart thing to do for a buyer.

Posted by Debbie Reynolds, Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent (Platinum Properties) over 4 years ago

Great advice for buyers, Sharon. In our area sellers generally get a home inspection prior to putting the house on the market; buyers might get a second one if they choose, but the more one knows about a property up front, the fewer issues are negotiated once in contract.

You are the go-to Newport Beach Realtor® to help buyers and sellers with their real estate needs.

 

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 4 years ago

Thank you everyone for your kind comments, and I do agree about getting a home inspection or even an inspection before home is put on market to identify any issues and address before putting on the market.

Posted by Sharon Paxson, Newport Beach Real Estate (Compass) over 4 years ago

Hi Sharon, yep, this step can save a lot of heartache down the road for buyers. And, if sellers order a preinspection prior to list ( and fix things) they can get through this nerve inducing aspect of the contract with a more certainty. 

Posted by Debb Janes EcoBroker and Bernie Stea JD, REALTORS® in Clark County, WA (ViewHomes of Clark County - Nature As Neighbors) over 4 years ago

Home inspections are SO important and I just don't understand when a client says they don't want one.

Posted by Barbara-Jo Roberts Berberi, MA, PSA, TRC - Greater Clearwater Florida Residential Real Estate Professional, Palm Harbor, Dunedin, Clearwater, Safety Harbor (Charles Rutenberg Realty) over 4 years ago

Sharon,

 I think it HUGE to get an inspector I work for a builder and I always encourage my buyers to get an inspection, for obvious reasons I do not recommend any one!

Posted by Yolanda Cordova-Gilbert over 4 years ago

Hi Sharon, I completely agree with your post as an inspection is so important for a resale and new home.

Posted by Robert Bob Gilbert, Your Katy TX ( West of Houston) Real Estate Expert (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Anderson Properties) over 4 years ago

Sharon Paxson ~ excellent post! It is very important for all parties involved in a transaction to have full disclosure, and I can't imagine forgoing the home inspection

Posted by Jon Kolsky, Licensed California Real Estate Broker (Kolsky Realty & Management) over 4 years ago

Good advice! Yes, home inspections should be essential to the home buying process. A good home inspector can bring real and potential issues to light. It's tough when home buyers don't hire a home inspector and find out later that their home has major problems. It's better to catch those issues before finalizing the purchase. A home inspection is a small investment and it's worthwhile.

Posted by Elvis Martin, Certified Master Home Inspector in Orange County (A&A Property Inspections) about 3 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments